Hi there

Posted
Rating:
#6460 (In Topic #1653)
Standard member
TheMaker is in the usergroup ‘Fan in training’

Intro and questions

I go by The Maker online.  This has been a handle/name that has been with me for a very long time. I was giventhe name back inthe old bulleting board days because I setup and customized bbses for others in my area. I have a  long history of working with communication platforms internet and before the internet existed.  I ran a few of those bbses back in the day.

I work in the IT field (EDI Analyst) and also have work part time at a computer store because I enjoy helping people solve their issues.

I have been toying with the idea of configuring a Composr based site for a bit.  Many of the features seem to remind of the old BBS days (yup I am that old).   Thus, Composr intrigues me.  Does Composr draw any inspiration from the bbses of old? 

I have setup doezens of other CMS based sites for testing purposes and I run a few on other software currently.  I am confounded by the Composr security permissions a bit.

On my test site, I joined as a new user to test things out from the start.  The user became a regular user after joinging however, I cannot get my head around why a standard user has rights to add news and other seemingly admin level content ( links etc ) out of the box.  There are other usergroup ranks that this seems appropriate but I think I am missing a point or misunderstanding the intent.  If anyone can assist with an explanation of why this is I welcome help to set me straight.  And even more how I prevent non admin users from adding specific content like news and links.  I am leary of breaking a perm elsewhere in making changes at the wrong levels.

Overall I am impressed by Composr and I really want to put it into production when I feel that I understand things a bit better.

Thaks for your time,

-- The Maker

Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Item has a rating of 5 (Liked by Chris Graham)
Site staff